WA Division

Western Australia

The Western Australian Division of the AAG is a committee with a diverse mix of gerontologists, academics, health care providers and advocacy groups who all value strongly the importance of expanding knowledge on ageing. The committee meets bi-monthly to organise a range of forums to provide opportunities for members and the wider community to become engaged with issues relevant to the field of ageing. The WA Division often collaborates with other organisations to develop these forums and welcomes the opportunity to work with other organisations both locally and nationally who are interested in gerontology.

The Division is also committed to supporting students and early career researchers and for several years has been sponsoring several awards for postgraduate students, including the ‘Australian Association of Gerontology Prize’ at Edith Cowan University which is awarded to the student receiving the highest mark in the unit “Health and Health Challenges for older adults.” The Division is keen to welcome new students to join the committee who are interested in meeting new people from a diverse range of backgrounds and working together to support networking and promoting research in the field of ageing.

Division Chair

Elissa Burton


Hilary O'Connell


Orla Hill
Kristen De San Miguel

Student Rep

Chiara Naseri

Events and Uni Sponsorship Awards

Sheridan Read

Committee Members

Keith Hill
Anne Zubrick
Leon Flicker AO (WA National Board Rep)
Roger Warne

Past Division Chairs
Leon Flicker AO


as at 24 August 2017

The 50th AAG Conference “Ageing: The Golden Opportunity” will be held at Crown Perth from 8th to 10th November 2017.

The Australian Association of Gerontology (AAG) WA Division is offering two grants to support your attendance to this conference

One grant each up to the value of $1250 will be offered to:

  • an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander (ASTI) delegate
  • a student delegate. 
To be eligible for the grants Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander (ATSI) applicants must:
  • Submit an expression of interest before the 14th of April 2017 outlining a brief overview of Indigenous ageing research in Western Australia (maximum 300 words).
  • Consider giving a short presentation at the conference (approximately 15 minutes) on what is happening in Indigenous ageing research in Western Australia.
  • Attend the ATSI workshop at the conference representing the WA division of the AAG.

To be eligible for the grants student representative applicants must:
  • Submit an expression of interest before the 14th of April 2017 outlining their interest in ageing and why they would benefit from attending the conference (maximum 300 words).
  • Attend any student workshops at the conference representing the WA division of the AAG.
  • Present a short report on their experience at the conference at a WA AAG committee meeting.


Successful applicants may also like to consider submitting an abstract to present at the conference (abstract applications close April 21, 2017- To access the call for abstracts flyer

Please forward an expression of interest to Sheridan Read at sheridanread@yahoo.com.au by the 14th April 2017 .

Click here for more information about the conference.

Professor Leon Flicker AO
Chair, AAG WA Division

Connect with Us

Join the mailing list

Keep up to date with the latest news and events by subscribing to the AAG Newsletter

Follow @AAG