SA Division

South Australia

The South Australian Division of the AAG has a program of thematically linked meetings for its members and members of associated organisations consisting of seminars, symposia and special interest meetings, including seminars in rural areas.

In addition, we run an annual one day scientific conference that includes the "ACH Group Sir Keith Wilson Oration". This conference is considered by many as the premier conference on ageing in the State and constantly attracts over 200 delegates.

Division Chair

Lui DiVenuto

Vice Chair

Cathy Lock


Ruth Walker


Linda Isherwood

Student Representative

Constance Kourbelis

2017 SAGe Conference Convenor

Lynsey Brown

Committee Members

Helen Barrie (Board nominee)

Clare Bradley

Monica Cations

Victoria Cornell

Carol Davy

Ivy Diegmann

Debbie Faulkner

Elizabeth Giola

Cath Hall

Hannah Keage

Roger Levi

Ashleigh Smith

Haiping Tan

Fiona Telford

Renuka Visvanathan

Amber Watt

Tim Windsor

Lily Xiao


To promote gerontological research in South Australia, the Australian Association of Gerontology SA Division is offering an award to researchers developing a research profile in gerontology. Students currently undertaking a PhD or those who have been awarded a PhD in the last five years are eligible to apply.

The purpose of the award is to recognise the achievements of South Australian researchers, to encourage people to undertake and continue their research activities, and to encourage the dissemination and promotion of current research.

The award is offered to researchers who have published or formally presented work in one of the following categories of research:

  • Applied – original work undertaken in order to acquire new knowledge with a specific application in view. It is undertaken either to determine possible uses for the findings of basic research or to determine new methods or ways of achieving some specific and predetermined objectives.
  • Strategic – (in human services field) generates knowledge about specific health and well-being needs and problems. These may be conditions, risk factors or sources of inefficiency or inequity.
  • Evaluative – work designed to allow judgements to be made about a program, project or service. Evaluation uses a range of methods to monitor the process and impact of a project or program against predetermined objectives and indicators.
  • Fundamental/Basic – this research generates knowledge about problems of scientific significance.

The award will include:

  • A certificate of achievement
  • A prize of $1000
  • AAG Membership for the 2017/18 year
  • The opportunity to present a paper at next year’s AAG SA Gerontology Forum in mid-2018 Adelaide

Criteria, Rules and Application Form:

To download the criteria, rule and application form please click here

For further information or submission of applications:

Dr Hannah Keage:

Psychology, University of South Australia

GPO Box 2471, Adelaide 5000

Closing date for applications: 1 September 2017

The SA Division of the AAG provides several forms of financial support to its student and early career members each year. This includes financial support to encourage student members to attend and present at the AAG national conference. Two research awards (Gary Andrews Student Award and Robert Penhall Early Career Research Award) are also offered annually to promote and further gerontology research in SA.

AAG Conference Support

AAG SA Committee Student Representative:
  • Receives financial support to attend the national conference - registration fee, airfare, accommodation
  • Approximately $1,500
Student member support:
  • Financial support is available to all SA student members who are presenting at the national conference
  • Maximum of $2,000 distributed between eligible members with a cap of $500 per person


Student/Early Career Research Awards

Gary Andrews Student Award:
  • Awarded to the best student presenter at the SAGe conference
  • Work presented must have been undertaken in SA while the presenter was a researcher under supervision for work in a field of gerontology
  • Eligible presenters must still be a student or be within 12 months of the award of their degree
  • $500 prize and 12 month AAG membership


Robert Penhall Early Career Research Award:
  • Award is open to researchers developing a research profile in gerontology
  • Applicants must be students currently undertaking a PhD or have been awarded a PhD in the last five years
  • $1,000 prize and 12 month AAG membership


For further details please contact:

Lui DiVenuto (President):

Linda Isherwood (Treasurer):


The 2017 Conference

The 50th AAG Conference “Ageing: The Golden Opportunity” will be held in Perth from 8th to 10th November 2017.

The AAG SA Division is offering financial support to assist South Australian students to attend this conference.

A total bursary of $2,000 (at a cap of $500 per person) is available to student delegates.

To be eligible for this financial support, student delegates must:

  • Be a current AAG member (or have applied for AAG membership)
  • Have had an abstract accepted for an oral or poster presentation at the conference
  • Have registered to attend the conference
  • Be willing to present their research at a future AAG SA Student Seminar


Eligible student delegates will be notified prior to the conference.

For further details please contact Lui DiVenuto (President): or Linda Isherwood (Treasurer):


Connect with Us

Join the mailing list

Keep up to date with the latest news and events by subscribing to the AAG Newsletter

Follow @AAG