NT Division

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory Division of the AAG was formed in November 2010, following a very successful AAG Northern Territory Conference that year. Formation of the Division meets a longstanding need to bring together diverse players to assist in raising awareness of ageing and aged care service delivery challenges specific to regional, rural and remote areas in the Northern Territory. Although Northern Territory is still relatively small in comparison to other States and Territories, membership is very diverse representing our unique and exciting seniors and aged care and sectors in the Northern Territory. Members are mainly based in Darwin and Alice Springs, although some members are based in more remote locations. The Executive Committee meets regularly to plan and arrange educational and other activities for members, including publication of a regular newsletter.

Division Chair

Judy Ratajec is a Psychogeriatric Nurse currently working as the Team Leader for the Darwin and Katherine Urban Aged Care Assessment Team.
Judy has been involved in the implementation of the Aged Care reforms and in particular increasing access for our ageing Territorians through My Aged Care.
Previous to her work with the Aged Care Assessment team she had worked extensively in the Psychogeriatric and Dementia areas developing and establishing  responsive services to meet the needs of those people most at risk.
Over the 21 years in the Northern Territory Judy has established programs through Alzheimer’s Australia ( Dementia Australia ) including Dementia Friendly Communities, lobbying for appropriate services for those living with Younger Onset Dementia, raising awareness of brain health and dementia risk reduction across the NT.
Through DBMAS (DSA) Judy worked alongside communities to developed Indigenous specific resources providing education and strategies to reduce the impact of Dementia and behaviours of concern.
Judy is a strong client advocate and is committed to improving the lives of people living with complex psychogeriatric conditions in the Northern Territory. 



Rebecca McGrath has over 13 years experience as a Physiotherapist, including four years experience working in remote Aboriginal health in Australia, Namibia and India. She has a particular interest in community-based physiotherapy addressing the unique health needs endemic to remote Northern Territory people, in particular the ageing population. Most recently Rebecca has up-skilled to become an ACAT assessor, and has enjoyed the holistic approach integral to ACAT assessing, over the past two years.




Mary Ingrames is the clinical nurse consultant for Geriatrics at Royal Darwin Hospital working as clinical nurse for GEM unit. She has worked for over 20 years in aged care in the NT in residential, community and subacute aged care areas across rural, remote and urban settings. Mary holds a Masters of mental health nursing (aged care). With special interest in behaviour management in dementia care and Indigenous aged care and has travelled extensively across NT with aged care work.




Membership Officer

Flo Goland




Events Coordinator





Board Nominee

Toni Roberts is a Manager of a Flexible Aged Care Facility in Maningrida, a remote community in the Northern Territory. Toni has held this position since 2017 – prior to this Toni held a similar position in another remote NT community. Toni is originally from Perth and worked for the WA government for over 20 years.

Toni holds a diploma in Community Management. Toni is currently undertaking a Diploma in Indigenous Culture. Toni received a Community Services Award from the Governor General in 2018. This was in recognition of the work and commitment to improve the care and outcomes for Aboriginal people particularly Aged and People with a Disability.

Toni is passionate about providing services to people that are person centred, culturally appropriate and promote choice and control.

Committee Members

Aneeta Snow is a Psychogeriatric Clinical Nurse Consultant with the Northern Territory Top End Health Service. She has worked for many years in the residential and community aged care sectors. She has a special interest in cognitive assessment and dementia, and the importance of Advanced Personal Planning. Aneeta has post graduate qualifications in mental health and chronic disease. She is also a member of the Australian College of Mental Health Nurses.



Susan Williams




Wendy Hubbard




Gillian Brearley



Caroline Phillips




 Page last updated Dec 2020

Sponsorship to attend AAG Conference or IAGG Conference  (or related) event

The AAG NT Division offers financial assistance to one member each year to attend an AAG or IAGG event. Sponsorship of $500 is available to assist members with the costs associated with attending an event, including registration and travel.

Conditions of Assistance:

If you would like to put yourself forward for the funding, you need to fulfil the following criteria:

  • Current membership of AAG (NT Division)
  • Unable to obtain sufficient funds from your own organisation or institution
  • Attendance at the event will assist in your own practice, research or community
  • have an abstract accepted (for student members only)
  • Must submit a short report for inclusion in the NT AAG newsletter

More information regarding 2021 application dates and process will follow soon.


Outstanding Contribution to Gerontology in the Northern Territory


Nominations are invited from AAG members, members of the public and the aged care sector to recognise an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to gerontology in the Northern Territory. Examples of criteria for nomination include:

  • Sustained and significant contribution to the study of ageing and/or aged care in the Northern Territory
  • Outstanding contribution in the practice of aged care (roles can include coordination, managerial, training and caring)
  • Significant contribution to quality aged care service provision and advocacy
  • Enhancing understanding of the particular needs of older people in the NT (for example Indigenous, rural and remote, ethnic groups)
  • Significant contribution to a positive public perception of ageing in the NT

The award winner will receive a certificate, complimentary membership of AAG for the following year, and a cash prize of $500.


All nominations require a Nominator and a Seconder

Please email your completed Nomination Form to Judy Ratajec by:

Email: judy.ratajec@nt.gov.au

or Fax: 08 8922 7216

Closing date for nominations is 18th April 2019

Connect with Us

Join the mailing list

Keep up to date with the latest news and events by subscribing to the AAG Newsletter

Follow @AAG