Membership Overview

Awards and Recognition 2021

AAG recognised and awarded worthy and committed AAG members and Grant Awardees at the 2021 (Virtual) Annual General Meeting & AAG Research Trust Update. These included:

The 2021 Hal Kendig Research Development Program Awardees
Professor Hal Kendig was as a leader and a powerful influence in shaping a national and international discourse on ageing, as well as a great advocate for the needs of older people. This Program reflects Hal's many outstanding contributions as well as his wish to continue to support early career researchers in their pursuit of research excellence. The Program is made possible by Hal’s family making an extraordinarily generous donation of $730,000 to the AAG Research Trust for the Hal Kendig Research Development Program, following Hal’s passing in June 2018. For more information regarding the late Emeritus Professor Hal Kendig please click here.

Dr Ye In (Jane) Hwang – University of NSW
Understanding the care and service needs of older adults postincarceration: enabling society’s most disadvantaged to successfully reintegrate and age well.

Dr Kris Tulloch – University of the Sunshine Coast
Exploring therapeutic horticulture in a social enterprise context for people living with dementia and their care partners: A pilot study.

For information on the amounts of the awards and the aims of these two projects please click here

Click here for more information about the Hal Kendig Research Development Program and past recipients

The 2021 Strategic Innovation Program Awardees
The Strategic Innovation Program initiative was made possible by the generous bequest from the estate of William Peter Steele Nicolson in 2016/17.

A/Prof Wendy Bower - The Royal Melbourne Hospital and the University of Melbourne
PUNCH Study: Multidisciplinary approach to identifying and addressing unmet continence needs in hospitalised older people during sub-acute care.

Lauren Poulos - Neuroscience Research Australia
Evaluating the culturally responsive elements, effectiveness and transferability of online dementia education and training with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

Dr Josefine Antoniades - National Ageing Research Institute (awarded in partnership with DARF)
Development of the Moving Pictures GENIE on-line to support Culturally and Linguistically Diverse family carers of persons living with dementia.

For information on the amounts of the awards and the aims of these two projects please click here

Click here for more information about the Strategic Innovation Program and past recipients

The 2021 RM Gibson Program Awardees

The RM Gibson Program. The fund was set up to honour the memory of Dr Richard (Dick) Maxwell Gibson who played a foundation role in the development of gerontology within Australia. He made a significant contribution to the AAG, including serving as our National President and the inaugural Chairman of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics Asia Oceania Region. The Grant recipients are:

Sally Day - University of Sydney
Cultural adaptation of an occupational therapy intervention for dementia.

Jenna Smith - Sydney School of Public Health, The University of Sydney
Examining Australian older adults’ breast, prostate, cervical and colorectal cancer screening decision-making

Nicki-Anne Wilson - Neuroscience Research Australia/University of New South Wales
Improvisation Engagement and Dementia (ImprovED): A Theatre Programme to Enhance Quality of Life in Older Adults with Cognitive Decline

Dana Pourzinal - The University of Queensland (awarded in partnership with DARF)
Evaluating the impact of a co-created video amongst hospitalised older people and their carers on knowledge to reduce sedentary behaviour

For information on the amounts of the awards and the aims of these two projects please click here

Click here for more information about the RM Gibson Program and past recipients

Life Members

Life Membership is one of the highest honours that the Australian Association of Gerontology can bestow on its members. Awards are made as necessary. Life Members have a long and distinguished record of service as a members and contribution to the Gerontology Community.

The 2021 Life Member Inductees:
Professor Lynne Parkinson and Professor Linda Rosenman

Click here for more information about AAG Life Members and past inductees

AAG Fellows

The AAG Fellowship award established in 1999 is intended to recognise high professional standing of members in any field of gerontology.

This year the Fellowship award goes to:

A/Prof Mandy Stanley (WA)

Click here for more information about AAG fellows and past recipients

AAG Distinguished Members

AAG Distinguished Member award recognises members who have given outstanding service to AAG over many years, through serving on AAG State and Territory Divisional Committees and/or the AAG Board or previous equivalents, contributing to a range of activities to promote the achievement of AAG’s purpose.

The 2021 Distinguished Members recipients: Dr Kim Kiely (NSW), Judy Ratajec (NT), Mary Ingrammes (NT), Dr Rachel Ambagtsheer (SA), Jo Tropea (VIC), Robin Harvey (VIC), Dr Maria Shialis (SA), Dr Victoria Cornell (SA) & Peter Bastian (SA - not pictured)

Click here for more information and past Distinguished Members

3 November 2021

Connect with Us

Join the mailing list

Keep up to date with the latest news and events by subscribing to the AAG Newsletter

Follow @AAG