Membership Overview

Awards and Recognition 2020

AAG recognised and awarded worthy and committed AAG members at the 2020 (Virtual) Annual General Meeting & AAG Research Trust Update. These included:

The 2020 Hal Kendig Research Development Program Awardees

Dr Jacqueline Francis-Coad – Curtin University
Co-designing and evaluating fall prevention education informed by community dwelling older people with dementia and their caregivers: a feasibility study.

Dr Louise Lavrencic– Neuroscience Research Australia
Supporting psychosocial wellbeing with older Aboriginal Australians: Listening to community members' knowledge about Culture and connection.

For information on the amounts of the awards and the aims of these two projects please click here

The 2020 RM Gibson Research Fund recipients

The RM Gibson Research Fund The fund was set up to honour the memory of Dr Richard (Dick) Maxwell Gibson who played a foundation role in the development of gerontology within Australia. He made a significant contribution to the AAG, including serving as our National President and the inaugural Chairman of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics Asia Oceania Region. The Grant recipients are:

Dr Katrin Gerber – NARI
Lost in grief - An in-depth exploration of the effects of grief on older people’s healthcare us

Dr Michael Lawless - Flinders University
A Way With Words: Using Co-Design to Support Goal Setting in Care

Dr Zoe Kopsaftis - UniSA
Augmented reality to educate, empower and support older Australians with COPD to self-manage and direct their own care and wellbeing

Unyime Jasper - University of Adelaide
Evaluating the impact of a co-created video amongst hospitalised older people and their carers on knowledge to reduce sedentary behaviour

Dr Aisling Smyth - Edith Cowan University (awarded in partnership with DARF)
Developing a sleep intervention for caregivers of people living with dementia

Click here for more information about RM Gibson Research Fund and past recipients

Life Members

Life Membership is one of the highest honours that the Australian Association of Gerontology can bestow on its members. Awards are made as necessary. Life Members have a long and distinguished record of service as a members and contribution to the Gerontology Community.

The 2020 Life Member Inductees:
Professor Christine Stirling and David Heath

Click here for more information about AAG Life Members and past inductees

AAG Fellows

The AAG Fellowship award established in 1999 is intended to recognise high professional standing of members in any field of gerontology.

This year the Fellowship awards go to:

Dr Katrina Radford (Qld) and Dr Barbara Blundell (WA)

Click here for more information about AAG fellows and past recipients

AAG Distinguished Members

AAG Distinguished Member award recognises members who have given outstanding service to AAG over many years, through serving on AAG State and Territory Divisional Committees and/or the AAG Board or previous equivalents, contributing to a range of activities to promote the achievement of AAG’s purpose.

The 2020 Distinguished Members recipients: Dr Elissa Burton (WA), Dr Belinda Cash (Vic) and Dr Anita Westera (NSW)

Click here for more information and past Distinguished Members

12 November 2020

Connect with Us

Join the mailing list

Keep up to date with the latest news and events by subscribing to the AAG Newsletter

Follow @AAG