Policy, Research & International

RM Gibson Program

The RM Gibson Program was set up to honour the memory of Dr Richard (Dick) Maxwell Gibson (pictured above in collaboration with Ruth Inall, now OAM and AAG Life Member) who played a foundation role in the development of gerontology within Australia and beyond. Dick made a significant contribution to AAG, including serving as National President and the inaugural Chairman of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics Asia/Oceania Region. To read a biography written by Margaret Henry please click here. The RM Gibson Program is structured as a sub-fund of the AAG Research Trust.

The aim of the RM Gibson Program is to support early researchers in the diverse fields related to ageing in Australia and the translation of the evidence base into policy and practice.

The 2021 RM Gibson Program funding round opens on 28th January and closes on 16th March 2021

Who should apply

The grants support researchers and practitioners, who are either post graduate students (Masters by research or PhD) or within five years of graduation from a PhD or Masters by Research, considering career interruption. There is no age limit. Undergraduates are not eligible.

Grants available this year

Four grants of up to $7,000 each for 18 months will be awarded through the 2021 RM Gibson Program funding round.

An additional grant will be potentially funded as part of a partnership between the AAG Research Trust and Dementia Australia Research Foundation. At the discretion of the AAG Research Trust and Dementia Australia Research Foundation, this funding may be used to expand the number of grants that can be funded under the RM Gibson Program with $7,000 awarded to a quality and fundable application with a substantive dementia focus.

This funding round will be run in parallel with the 2021 Strategic Innovation Program Please note that applicants cannot apply for both of these funding rounds. There is no limit as to how many times a person may be listed as a co-researcher in another person's application.

Please click on the links below for information on previous RM Gibson Program (formerly known as the RM Gibson Research Fund) awardees.

2020 Grant Awardees
2019 Grant Awardees
2018 Grant Awardees
2017 Grant Awardees
2016 Grant Awardees
2015 Grant Awardees

Connect with Us

Join the mailing list

Keep up to date with the latest news and events by subscribing to the AAG Newsletter

Follow @AAG