Policy, Research, Grants & International

AAG Research Trust Steering Committee

AAG champions research in ageing and supports the work of leading and emerging researchers. The AAG Research Trust provides a specific opportunity to provide funding for strategic initiatives and for developing research capacity. Bringing together multi-disciplinary leaders in ageing, the AAG Research Trust announce formation of its inaugural Steering Committee and appointment of Chair, Professor Linda Rosenman.  

Steering Committee members will establish focus areas and grow grant-giving programs, opening the door for donors to fund high need and high impact research to help achieve the AAG Research Trust Purpose and Strategic Drivers 2020-2023The Steering Committee was established by and reports to the AAG Board in its capacity as Corporate Trustee of the AAG Research Trust, which is a public ancillary fund with deductible gift recipient two status.

‘Ageing is a complex, long-term issue that requires a sophisticated response, members of the Steering Committee along with engaged partners possess expertise across the breadth of ageing and are well placed to identify and be responsive to the challenges and opportunities of an ageing population.’ 

Professor Linda Rosenman Chair of the AAG Research Trust Steering Committee.    

Areas of focus will identify and seed-fund knowledge development in areas of ageing that are not well addressed by current research funding and attract new and experienced researchers and practitioners to develop careers in the ageing field. 

The Steering Committee also aims to raise funds for innovative research that crosses traditional, professional and disciplinary boundaries and that explicitly aims to change policy and practice in the broad space of ageing.

Steering Committee Members

Chair. AAG Research Trust Steering Committee
Professor Linda Rosenman GAICD -
Chair of the Trustees of the AAG Research Trust and AAG appointee to the AJA Inc Management Committee

Professor Linda Rosenman has been a member of AAG for 25 years. She has recently retired after an academic and senior management career at University of Queensland where she is professor emeritus, Victoria University (Melbourne) and Charles Darwin University where she is a professorial research fellow. Her research focuses upon superannuation and retirement incomes, financial elder abuse and intergenerational transfers of care and wealth.



Chair of the AAG Research Trust Grants Committee
Professor Julie Byles AO

Professor Julie Byles BMed PhD FAAHMS, is Global Innovation Chair in Responsive Transitions in Health and Ageing at the University of Newcastle and a Director of the Australian Longitudinal Study on Women’s Health. She is a Fellow and Life Member of the Australian Association of Gerontology, and Chair of their grants committee, Chair of the International Association of Gerontology (Asia Oceania) Social Research and Planning sub-committee, Head of the International Longevity Centre (ILC) – Australia and co-President of the ILC-Global Alliance. Her research interests in ageing include the role of health services, preventive activities, and treatments in maintaining quality of life for older people. She is also co-chair of the Hunter Ageing Alliance, a group that lobbies for the inclusion of older people in Hunter communities.


AAG Research Trust Steering Committee member and AAG director of the corporate trustee
Dr Gill Lewin

Gill has recently retired following a nearly thirty year career in ageing research during which time she headed up research in Silver Chain, a large community-based health and aged care organisation, and later combined this with a Professorship at Curtin University.  While Gill and her colleagues completed projects and wrote and published papers and reports on a diverse range of topics about health and care services for older people, Gill’s especial research interest was on the development and testing of service models that enabled and empowered older people to optimise their health and ageing experience. 

Gill has been a member of the Australian Association of Gerontology (AAG) since 1994 and has held a number of roles including Chair of the WA Committee and National President.  Gill is currently a director of the corporate trustee, a member of the Research Trust Steering Committee and a member of the Reconciliation Action Group.  Gill was appointed to the Commonwealth’s Council of Elders in January 2022.

AAG Research Trust Steering Committee member and AAG director of the corporate trustee
Susan Staples GAICD -
Treasurer of AAG and AAG Research Trust (Chair of the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee)

Susan is a Director in KPMG’s Governance, Risk and Controls practice, providing advice to c-suite executives and boards across all sectors in strategic risk framework development and implementation, board and director duties and internal controls review. Her work focuses on supporting and strengthening corporate and board governance for both public and private sector clients, in a dynamic and constantly changing environment. Susan is a lead author of KPMG;s Directors’ Toolkit and led the development of the Victorian Health Services Directors’ Toolkit. Susan’s has a deep connection with the not-for-profit, with direct experience working in the disability sector and large portfolio of human services clients.


Connect with Us

Join the mailing list

Keep up to date with the latest news and events by subscribing to the AAG Newsletter

Follow @AAG