About Us

International Association of Gerontology & Geriatrics

The IAGG (International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics) was first established in Belgium in July 1950. It was established to improve the quality of life of the world’s older people by sharing research results on health, welfare, and rights, functioning as a worldwide network to achieve the goal.

It was originally known as the International Association of Gerontological Societies, and then it was later changed to the International Association of Gerontology (IAG). In 2004, the IAG’s Council of Directors decided to include geriatrics in the name, hence the change to IAGG for the 18th World Congress in 2005.

The mission of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics is to promote the highest levels of achievement in gerontological research and training worldwide, and to interact with other international, inter-governmental and non-governmental organisations in the promotion of gerontological interests globally and on behalf of its member associations. The Association pursues these activities with a view of enhancing the highest quality of life and well-being of all people as they experience ageing at individual and societal levels.

Today, the IAGG is represented in 64 countries around the world and boasts a worldwide membership of over 45,100 people. Additionally, it is now also working as a UN consultant and as a member of CONGO (Conference of Non-governmental Organizations).

AAG is a member of the IAGG and has been actively involved in the executive and council from the beginning. Dr. Gary Andrews was the 16th president of the IAGG, from 1997 - 2001. Past president of the AAG, Julie Byles is the Secretary of the IAGG Asia Oceania Region and is on the IAGG Council. Prof. Keith Hill is the Chair of the Asia Oceania Region and is on the Executive Committee of the IAGG. James Beckford Saunders, CEO of AAG, is the Executive Officer of the Asia Oceania Region.

Visit the IAGG Website

IAGG Newsletters

AAG, ANZSGM and NZAG are intending to bid for the 2029 IAGG World Congress at the 2021 IAGG World Congress in Argentina

IAGG Asia Oceania Region

The IAGG Asia/Oceania Region was established in 1978. Currently, there are 14 member countries, including Australia, PR China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, DPR Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan ROC and Thailand. Since 1995, the Region has published an annual newsletter:

IAGG Asia Oceania Newsletters

Asia/Oceania Regional Congress of Gerontology

If you would like to know more you can contact James Beckford Saunders, Executive Officer of the IAGG Asia Oceania Region at E:enquiries@aag.asn.au

Connect with Us

Join the mailing list

Keep up to date with the latest news and events by subscribing to the AAG Newsletter

Follow @AAG