AAG Distinguished Members

AAG Distinguished Member Awards were introduced in 1999. These awards recognise members who have given outstanding service to AAG over many years.

Nomination is based on recognition by and recommendation of AAG's Divisions, which is reviewed and approved by the Board.

Current financial members wishing to nominate another member or self-nominate may do so by completing this form which will be forwarded to the chair of their local AAG State/Territory Division.

Previous year's recipients of Distinguished Member awards can by viewed here.

Looking to Nominate?

Nominate Here 


Minimum five years’ active and substantive contributions to AAG, demonstrated through service on Divisional Committees and/or the AAG Board of Directors or previous equivalents or other AAG bodies including special interest groups, the student and early career group or ATSIAG, and/ or contribution to a range of activities over that time. Members do not need to have served on a committee to be eligible, but must have actively and substantively contributed to AAG over at least five years.

Below are the 2021 Distinguished Members recipients:
Dr Kim Kiely (NSW), Judy Ratajec (NT), Mary Ingrammes (NT), Dr Rachel Ambagtsheer (SA), Jo Tropea (VIC), Robin Harvey (VIC), Dr Maria Shialis (SA), Dr Victoria Cornell (SA) & Peter Bastian (SA - not pictured)
Pictured: Announced during the 2021 AAG and AAG Research Trust online AGM and Research Trust Update

Honour Board - AAG Distinguished Members

Adelaide Bornmann

Alan Steward

Andrea Petriwskyj

Andrew Robinson

Anita Westera

Ann Atkinson

Anna Howe

Anna Shepherd

Anne Henderson

Anne Sammut

Anne-Marie Russo

Anthony Brown

Arthur Baxter

Barbara Squires

Bess McRae

Beth Neyland

Belinda Cash

Bev Fethers

Bridget Sutherland

Briony Dow

C Hill

Carina Green

Carrie Hayter

Catherine Lock

Catherine Yelland

Christina Hagger

Christine Burbak

Christopher Shanley

Claudia Meyer

Colin Pudney

Colleen Cartwright

David Palmer

David Simmons

Don Rowland

Elaine Barclay - Abbott

Elaine White

Elissa Burton

Eric Cunningham Dax

Evonne Miller

Felicity Barr

Fred Ehrlich

GA (Tony) Broe

Gerry De Gabrielle

Gill Lewin

Graeme Parry

Heather Prentice

Helen Creasey

Helen Feist

Helen Flux

Helen Pook

Hilary O'Connell

Jane Fyfield

Jane Sims

Jeni Warburton

Jennie Cox

Jennifer Page

Jenny Achurch

Jessica Clark

Jill Petty

Jo Tropea

Joanne Cranitch

John Crisp

John Hurley OAM

John McCormack

John Shepherd

Joy Chapman

Joyce Hossack

Judy Lindsay

Judy Ratajec

Kaarin Anstey

Kasia Bail

Keith Hill

Ken Evans

Kerry McDougall

Keryn Curtis

Kevin Grant

Kevin Vassarotti

Kim Kiely

Kristen De San Miguel

Laurie Buys

Leon Flicker

Linda Isherwood

Lloyd Jago

Lorna Hoey

Lui DiVenuto

Lynne Parkinson

Lynsey Brown

Maggie Crow

Margaret Davey

Margaret Hodge

Margaret Hubbery

Margaret Robb

Maria Shialis

Marianne Cummins

Marie Curlis

Marion Shaw

Marjory Kobold

Mary Baker

Mary Ingrammes

Merv Cheong

Michael Davis

Michael Fine

Michael Murray

Michael Woodward

Mila Cichello

Pam Bongers

Pamela Johnson

Pat Charlton

Patricia Reeve

Patricia Shepherd

Paul Eckert

Paul Sadler

Pauline Brooks OAM

Penny McCartney

Peter Bastian

Phillus Montgomery

Rachel Ambagtsheer

Reg Goddard

Renuka Visvanathan

Rev Prof Elizabeth Mackinlay

Rhonda Nay

Richard Cumpston

Robert Penhall

Robin Harvey

Rod Brown

Ron Okely

Ruth Walker

Sadhana Mahajani

Sally Garratt

Sam Edmonds

Sandra Forster

Sandra Woodbridge

Sarah Fogg

Sharon Wall

Sophia Lindeyer

Sue Quine

Victoria Cornell

Virginia Simpson-Young

Viv Allanson

Winsome Ward

Wivienne Pusey

Yvonne Wells