Steering Committee Members


AAG Research Trust Steering Committee member & AAG Director of the Corporate Trustee

Professor Julie Byles AO
Living on the lands of the Awabakal and Worimi peoples

Professor Julie Byles BMed PhD FAAHMS, is Global Innovation Chair in Responsive Transitions in Health and Ageing at the University of Newcastle and a Director of the Australian Longitudinal Study on Women’s Health. She is a Fellow and Life Member of the Australian Association of Gerontology, and Chair of their grants committee, Chair of the International Association of Gerontology (Asia Oceania) Social Research and Planning sub-committee, Head of the International Longevity Centre (ILC) – Australia and co-President of the ILC-Global Alliance. Her research interests in ageing include the role of health services, preventive activities, and treatments in maintaining quality of life for older people. She is also co-chair of the Hunter Ageing Alliance, a group that lobbies for the inclusion of older people in Hunter communities.

Immediate past Chair of the AAG Research Trust Grants Committee (2021)